Small fish in a big pond

20130528-000530.jpg

Photographing New York Fashion Week was an absolute highlight for me. Being a small fish dropped into a big pond was no excuse for a lazy work ethic, in fact I would say it made me more determined.

Coming from a family of photographers and journalists (and great at what they do) it was pretty much by accident I fell into this hobby/career.

This trip however, I wanted to prove myself. Mum has taught me tricks of the trade over the years about getting into concerts and bypassing middlemen etc. so this time I wanted to make her proud.
I decided I would get accreditation to the fashion event myself – even if it meant “super-stalking” LinkedIn and contacting every designer and PR agent in NYC. (I’m not even kidding!)

After very little sleep one night, I woke up to a few exciting emails.
Okay that’s an understatement.

SUPER AMAZING OHMYGOSH ASDFGHJK I CAN’T EVEN DEAL, EMAILS

Designers invited ME, to personally attend their shows as a guest. Uh what?!

I was unbelievably excited.
Ecstatic.
Even did a weird little dance in the supermarket when I read the news. Don’t judge.. 🙂

Walking in amongst those who I admire, like Jessica Stein of Tuula Vintage
& Chiara Ferragni was when it really hit me that (without being too cliché) the sky is the limit. Even then you can go to space now, but that’s beside the point.

But who else fantastically fantastic was at the show? Find out in my next blog post 🙂

Love,
Olivia xoxo

20130528-000323.jpg

20130527-234730.jpg

Leave a Reply

